‘Shine like stars in the universe’ 

Philippians 2;15

Our vision provides a guiding light to the pupils, staff, Governors and parents to ensure we have a dynamic mix of high achievement for all, exceptional pastoral care and expansive opportunities for the children. We want our children to become the exemplary citizens of the future. We are a vibrant, happy, family orientated community where everyone really feels they can flourish and  achieve anything to which they set their hearts and minds.


Our South Otterington CE curriculum is based on the National Curriculum documents.

We also use the KAPOW scheme of work to enhance some areas of our curriculum.

The National Curriculum

The National Curriculum, which was revised in 2014, requires that children should be taught:-

  • three core subjects – English, maths and science;
  • seven foundation subjects – geography, history, technology, art, music, information technology and physical education. Religious education must also
  • be taught to all children unless exempted.
  • Personal, social and Health Education and citizenship is taught from Reception to Year 6.
  • French will also be taught at Key Stage 2.

These subjects will be taught using a variety of teaching strategies which will include whole class, ability group and individual tuition.

The National Curriculum has set out clear expectations for what children should achieve by the end of each key stage and, for English, Maths and Science, has provided guidance as to when in each phase this content should be covered. These expectations have been developed into a set of statements for each subject and each year group. These statements are used by teachers to help define and guide next steps in learning. Through their targets, pupils will be aware of specific statements they are working on to improve their learning.

To track pupil attainment and progress we use a system of steps through Target Tracker and also White Rose Maths end of termly assessments, PiRA and GAPs.

All children have opportunities to apply their understanding in a range of challenging real life contexts, and to demonstrate their mastery of a particular skill at a deep and thorough level before moving on to the next year group’s expectations.
National Statutory Assessments take place in the following years:

Reception: Baseline Assessment
Year 1: Phonic screening assessment
Year 2: Phonics screening re-check for any child not reaching the threshold in Year 1
Year 4: Multiplication Tables Check (MTC)
Year 6: SATs in Reading, Writing, Mathematics and GAPS

Our Curriculum Leaders are our teaching staff.

Our Curriculum Governor links are available on our Governor page:

Please click to follow the links to the National Curriculum document HERE:

Enriching our curriculum in 2023 – 2024
Autumn 2023

Curriculum Examples

  • Our Pearl Gallery- 24.10.23. Valerie from the gallery will be hosting our Pearl themed work, from 3.30pm-4.30pm
  • Pearl Choir Workshop at All Saints School- October 2023
Spring 2024Curriculum Examples
  • Visit from the PCSO to talk about keeping safe online
Summer 2024Curriculum Examples
  • Visit from Chris Connaughton- how to be an author
  • Cool Chemistry Workshop

South Otterington CE Primary School is strongly committed to using the Ethical Leadership Framework to create and uphold an ethos that stresses high achievement, equal opportunities, the valuing of cultural diversity, the provision of a secure environment, partnerships with parents and the wider community.